District 1

Historical Evolution

In February 1926, the law of organizing the Bucharest City was adopted. Therefore, Bucharest was divided in four districts: Yellow, Black, Blue and Green.

The four districts were becoming thus juridical entities, self-governing, with distinct budgets. The districts from those years were lead by a Communal Council, which chose the mayor and his two helping people, the deputy mayor and the secretary. According to that fundamental law, the administrative decentralization was obvious.

This legislative organization was functional until March 27th 1936, when a new law for this matter was approved. Some modifications in leading the districts were therefore implemented: sole budget for the entire city, the regulations, disposals, decisions becoming Municipality’s prerogatives. At the same time, collecting the additional taxes (the lots) from the Ministry of Finances was a duty of the municipality’s organs, and the district mayor was not fulfilling the responsibilities of a first urban residence householder anymore, him becoming a simple administrator.

During the inter-war period, Bucharest City had four districts: Yellow, Black, Blue and Green and 13 suburban communes (former rural settlements), respectively Băneasa, Colentina, Fundeni, Pantelimon, Principele Nicolae, Dudeşti-Cioplea, Popeşti-Leordeni, Şerban- Vodă, Militari, Roşu, Regele Mihai, Griviţa şi Lupeasca.

The district city halls did not have their own head offices yet, as well as the General City Hall, which had been moved from one place to another. The Black City Hall was functioning in a building from Călăraşi street; the Yellow City Hall had an imposing head office on Amzei Square, between 1935-1936, a building with office, theatre hall and modern stores at the groun floor and it was considered to be a distinct architectonic entity; the Green City Hall (the nowadays City Hall of District 1), built an imposing edifice on a field bought in Banu Manta. The District 1 City Hall was the only City Hall in Bucharest built from its groundwork, for this purpose, between 1927 and 1936. The building with a Florentine look disposes of a sumptuous pair of stairs, of fifty offices, a huge marble assembly room for councils and festivities, and the City Hall Tour, with a 56m height, was the tallest in the city. The work of the architects N. Georgescu and G. Cristinel has endured until nowadays and will continue to fulfill the role of district city hall, after the finishing of the consolidation and rearrangement which are now in progress, thanks to the local administration.

The City and the suburban communes’ administration was lead by the General Council and by the mayor of the Capital, as city father. The General Council was composed of the mayors and counselors chosen from the four districts, from the suburban communes city halls and counselors having consultative voting right. When the Marshal Ion Antonescu was governing, the four “colors” were abolished, but after several months they went back to the old governing form. After August 23rd 1944, Bucharest was divided in three districts, differentiated by colors (district I – Yellow, district II – Black, District III – Blue). A new political regime instauration in 1947 had brought changes concerning the cities administrative organization. In 1950, through the law given by The Great National Convention of the Romanian Popular Republic, the country’s territory has suffered a new territorial-administrative division: regions, sections, towns and communes. Bucharest City was structured in eight sections, as follows: I. V. Stalin, 1 Mai, 23 August, 16 Februarie, Tudor Vladimirescu, Nicolae Bălcescu, V. I. Lenin, Griviţa Roşie. The present District 1, corresponded to the territory under the administration of I. V. Stalin and Griviţa Roşie sectors. In 1968, the eight sectors in which Bucharest was divided, were becoming again districts, Bucharest City comprising back then eight sectors, twelve suburban communes and twenty-three villages. Afterwards, in 1979, the eight sectors of the Capital were reduced to six, the ones existing nowadays too.

After 1989, through the administrative laws of the local power, the competences were differentiated between the General Bucharest City Hall, Mayor and General Council and the City Halls of the six districts, of the Mayor and of the Local District Councils.


Covering almost the entire northern part of the Capital and extending towards the Vlăsia Plain form Ilfov County, towards localities as Otopeni, Snagov, Mogoşoaia, Buftea, Chitila, District 1 lies on 70 km², having a population of about 230.000 inhabitants. The District 1 is located on the North West part of Bucharest and has as neighbors Districts 2, 3, 5 and 6.

Starting, as the other districts as well, from the center of the Capital, respectively nearly from 0 kilometer, the District 1 has as a west limit the District 6 (through Giuleşti Path and Plevna Path), as east limit the District 2 (along Floreasca Path), and as south limit has as neighbors Districts 3 and 5.

The District of Parks and Green Spaces

The District 1 surface is dominated by a plain relief, crossed on the northern part by the slow stream of Colentina river, with wide loops which have determined the forming of the Lakes Străuleşti, Griviţa, Băneasa, Herăstrău şi Floreasca. On the wide Vlăsia plain, formerly covered by rich woods which protected Bucharest on the north, there have remained clumps of forests, situated along Bucureşti-Ploieşti road and the forests Băneasa, Tunari, Snagov, arranged as recreation places.

District 1 fully deserves its denomination of Green District. One can find here the largest surface of green areas for an inhabitant, compared to any other administrative areas of the Capital.

The Kiseleff Park, Cişmigiu, Herăstrău, Bazilescu, Operei, Queen Mary are only some of the green “jewelry” of District 1, where Bucharest inhabitants can recreate and breathe fresh air, away from fuss inside the big City.

The cultural and urban pearl of the Capital

Most of the specialists, architects, historians, scientists or simple citizens, all appreciate the value of the District 1 cultural and architectonic patrimony, which they came to consider the cultural and urban pearl of Bucharest. One can breathe culture with each step they take, even if we talk about museums, theatres, statutes, monuments or cult places. The Romanian Athenaeum, the Triumphal Arc, Barbu Ştirbei palace, Kretzulescu palace, the Vernescu house, the „Dimitrie Gusti” National Village Museum , the „George Enescu” National Museum, the National Art Museum of Romania, the Natural History Museum “Grigore Antipa”, the Romanian Countryman Museum, the Caşin Monastery, the Odeon Theatre are only a few of the “jewelry” that District 1, “the Capital of the Capital” owns.